12 Neo-Fascists In Congress Voted Against Gold Medals For The Capitol Police

Pelosi doesn't introduce a lot of bill herself; she farms them out to her supporters or let's her committee chairs do that. But yesterday she personally introduced a simple and completely non-partisan resolution, H.R. 1085, "To award three congressional gold medals to the United States Capitol Police and those who protected the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 202." The first co-sponsor was Minority Leader Cat-in-the-Hat and, among the 335 cosponsors where a veritable rogues gallery of obstructions GOP leaders, from Steve Scalise and Liz Cheney to your garden variety rightists like Michael McCaul, Nicole Malliotakis, Brian Babin, French Hill, Troy Balderson, Greg Pence, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Frank Lucas, Dan Crenshaw, Steve Stivers, Jason Smith, Lee Zeldin, Ralph Norman, John Molenaar, dozens and dozens of them... even an occasional fascist like Gym Jordan, Lauren Boebert, Jodey Arrington, Mike Johnson, Jody Hice, Mad Cawthorn, Randy Feenstra, Joe Wilson.

And it passed-- overwhelmingly... but not unanimously. The final vote was 413-12. A dozen Republican neo-Nazi type cop-haters and QAnon lunatics voted against it:

  • Andy Biggs (AZ)

  • Michael Cloud (TX)

  • Andrew Clyde (GA)

  • Matt Gaetz (FL)

  • Louis Gohmert (TX)

  • Bob Good (VA)

  • Lance Gooden (TX)

  • Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA)

  • Andy Harris (MD)

  • Thomas Massie (KY)

  • John Rose (TN)

  • Greg Steube (FL)

Several of them are under investigation for assisting the domestic terrorists who sacked the Capitol on 1/6 in Trump's failed coup attempt.

The problem for the neo-Nazi wing of the GOP was the wording of the resolution. The word "insurrectionists" was deemed offensive in this sentence: "On January 6, 2021, a mob of insurrectionists forced its way into the US Capitol building and congressional office buildings and engaged in acts of vandalism, looting, and violently attacked Capitol police officers." Louie Gohmert, who personally encouraged the mob to attack the Capitol and-- hopefully-- may eventually face criminal charges himself, groused that the resolution, which he voted against, "seeks to drive a narrative that isn’t substantiated by known facts." Nutcase and sex addict Taylor Greene explained her NO vote: "There were a few things in this bill that really bothered me and caused me to vote 'no.' Number one: Nancy Pelosi called the Capitol 'a temple.' You know, it’s the Democrats that worship government as if government is some kind of God. And the government will never be God, and it can never be God. There’s only one God and he created all things that we know and see and hear and feel and experience in our life. God created creation. This government is not God and this Capitol is not a temple. I will not vote for that. I will not give that a stamp of my approval, and I know for a fact that people back home in my district in Georgia will not give that a stamp of their approval. We do not believe the Capitol is a temple, so therefore I cannot vote for that." So... thereto go.

Want to see less members of Congress like Taylor Greene and the other 11 freaks? Let's be a little careful about voter suppression bills being passed in red states. Can I suggest you take a look at this 5 minute film from Brave New Films?