top of page

In Case You Forget, The New Dems Want You To Know That They Hate Socialism Too

Yesterday, Maria Salazar (R-FL) was ranting about the bogus socialism resolution she introduced last week with Steve Scalise, “denouncing the horrors and failures of socialism.” One would expect no less. Not to be outdone, one of the more conservative groupings of House Democrats, the Wall Street owned and operated New Dems, jumped in too. Their leadership team issued this statement today:

“New Dems strongly reject socialism— period. House Republican Leaders should set aside political games and join us as we work to grow our economy for all Americans.”

It was signed by the new New Dem chair, Annie Kuster (NH) plus Vice Chairs Sharice Davids (KS), Derek Kilmer (WA), Brad Schneider (IL) and Salud Carbajal (CA), Freshman Leadership Representative Nikki Budzinski (IL), Leadership Members Lori Trahan (MA) and Marc Veasey (TX), Whip Susie Lee (NV), and Chair Emeritus Suzan DelBene (WA).

That said, I thought you might be interested in knowing which freshmen decided to join the New Dems this cycle. No doubt it will show up in their voting records soon enough:

  • Nikki Budzinski (IL)

  • Yadira Caraveo (CO)

  • Don Davis (NC)

  • Valerie Foushee (NC)

  • Val Hoyle (OR)

  • Glenn Ivey (MD)

  • Jeff Jackson (NC)

  • Greg Landsman (OH)

  • Morgan McGarvey (KY)

  • Jared Moskowitz (FL)

  • Wiley Nickel (NC)

  • Brittany Pettersen (CO)

  • Hillary Scholten (MI)

  • Eric Sorensen (IL)

  • Emilia Sykes (OH)

  • Shri Thanedar (MI)

  • Gabe Vasquez (NM)

Several were elected with significant financial help from conservative Republicans who laundered money into their primary campaigns through AIPAC, Democratic Majority for Israel, Mainstream Democrats PAC, Moderates PAC and the corrupt dark web of Sam Bankman-Fried and FTX-related SuperPACs. Worst were:

Don Davis (vs progressive Erica Smith)

  • $2,438,047 from AIPAC

  • $466,706 from DMFI

  • $71,921 from Mainstream Democrats PAC

  • $15,640 from Moderate PAC

Glenn Ivey (vs progressive Donna Edwards)

  • $5,992,914 from AIPAC

  • $429,997 from DMFI

  • $108,330 from Bankman-Fried

Valerie Foushee (vs progressive Nida Allam)

  • $2,128,194 from AIPAC

  • $1,040,133 from Bankman-Fried

  • $290,131 from DMFI

Morgan McGarvey (vs progressive Attica Scott)

  • $971,552 from Bankman-Fried

  • $52,141 from DMFI

Val Hoyle (vs progressive Doyle Canning)

  • $541,891 from Bankman-Fried

Jared Moskowitz

  • $431,232 from Bankman-Fried

Nikki Budzinski

  • $263,453 from Bankman-Fried

Brittany Pettersen

  • $106,500 from Bankman-Fried

New Dems strongly reject socialism but, like Republicans, they certainly do not reject the stolen money from FTX that helped elect them, nor the blood money from AIPAC's and DMFI's wealthy Republican donors. None of the money above was returned or donated to charities.

I was excited yesterday because my doctor asked me if I want to participate in a clinic trial for a peripheral neuropathy cure. I do, I do. And I will… but I wouldn’t if the hospital wasn’t maintaining strict COVID protocols. I was there earlier in the week and didn’t see a single person without a mask. In faction one is allowed into any of the buildings without a mask. In L.A. County there were 2,927 new cases reported yesterday. Nationally there are 31,955 people hospitalized with COVID and 4,018 are in intensive case units. 488 people died yesterday. Texas and Florida, where governors are hostile towards science, have the most reported daily new cases on average, 3,704 in Texas and 3,589 in Florida. Florida has the highest average daily deaths in the country— 53.6.

Yesterday, though, the House passed H.R. 497, a bill that will never become law that “nullifies the rule titled Medicare and Medicaid Programs; Omnibus COVID-19 Health Care Staff Vaccination, which was issued by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services on November 5, 2021, and prohibits the issuance of any substantially similar rule. The rule requires health care providers, as a condition of Medicare and Medicaid participation, to ensure that staff are fully vaccinated against COVID-19.” It passed 227-203. Seven conservative Democrats joined 220 Republicans to pass it. Which Dems?

  • Don Davis (NC)

  • Jared Golden (ME)

  • Chrissy Houlahan (PA)

  • Val Hoyle (OR)

  • Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (WA)

  • Andrea Salinas (OR)

  • Abigail Spanberger (VA)

bottom of page